WHEN TRUE LOVE DIDN’T WAIT

Oh valentine!❤️ To love and to be loved, such a wonderful thing isn’t it? More so if you already found your one true love. In my case though, I wasn’t the one who found him—he was the one who found me.

But this is true love we’re talking about, so we need to be cautious. Besides, the wise would always say that “true love waits.”

My true love, however, did not wait.

He didn’t wait for me to be perfect. He didn’t wait for be to be pure and blameless.

“Christ arrives right on time to make this happen. He didn’t, and doesn’t, wait for us to get ready. He presented himself for this sacrificial death when we were far too weak and rebellious to do anything to get ourselves ready. And even if we hadn’t been so weak, we wouldn’t have known what to do anyway. We can understand someone dying for a person worth dying for, and we can understand how someone good and noble could inspire us to selfless sacrifice. But God put his love on the line for us by offering his Son in sacrificial death while we were of no use whatever to him.” – Romans 5:6-8 (The Message)

In another version, it says that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Now that’s true love. It’s love that acts on it and not just speaks of it. Love that bleeds for his beloved and keeps no record of wrongs. It’s love that continues to love even when it’s not reciprocated.

My true love didn’t wait. He didn’t wait to pursue me, even if I’m not worthy to be pursued. He didn’t wait to love me, even if there was no certainty I would love him too.

My true love didn’t wait, and I am most grateful for it.

Leave a Reply

