MY SECRET POST

We all have secrets.

Secrets always had an air of mystery to it. It’s something confidential, private, and hidden. It’s something we’d like to keep… a piece of ourselves that remains unknown to the world. Ironically though, we enjoy finding out about other people’s secrets. Let’s admit it, in one time or another we clicked on an article about it. “Rich Guy’s Secret to Success,” “Celebrity Secrets to Lose Weight,” “Famous Family’s Secrets Revealed,” and the list goes on. Everyone has a secret and we are all intrigued by it.

Want to know my secret? It’s this:

My secret is that I need God – that I am sick and can no longer make it alone. I need God to help me give, because I no longer seem to be capable of giving; to help me be kind, as I no longer seem capable of kindness; to help me love, as I seem beyond being able to love.

– Douglas Coupland

I’ve had this secret for about ten years already. But it was only a few years ago, when I saw this quote, that my secret made much more sense to me. To see it verbalized as such drove the point for me. This is my secret: that without God I cannot really give, I cannot really care, I cannot really love. That without God, I cannot really live.

It’s a secret I’ll continue to hold on to. Now that I’ve shared this with you, you’re not obliged to keep it to yourself. I’m even encouraging you to spread it. After all, this secret is too good to keep 🙂

How about you? What’s your secret?

Leave a Reply

